XFL Reveals Guardians Name, Logo For New York Team

Season To Start In Early 2020

Alec Gearty
August 21, 2019 - 2:11 pm

The New York Guardians have been born.

Listen to your team news NOW.

XFL Commissioner Oliver Luck revealed the names and logos for each of the eight teams set to play in the revived football league after months of intrigue. The Guardians earned their namesake for being the "watchdogs over the metropolis" in the team's official announcement Wednesday. 

Former Giants offensive coordinator Kevin Gilbride was named the team's first head coach and general manager in April. The Guardians will play their home games at MetLife Stadium, beginning in February 2020. New York was a member of the original XFL slate of teams with the New York/New Jersey Hitmen before the league folded after one season in 2001. 

New York is one of four Eastern Conference teams, along with the Tampa Bay Vipers, DC Defenders and St. Louis BattleHawks. The Seattle Dragons, Los Angeles Wildcats, Dallas Renegades and Houston Roughnecks make up the Western Conference. 

The XFL cleared a major hurdle in finally revealing the team names and logos. Now the Guardians and the rest of the franchises can look toward filling out their rosters. The XFL has already started the process of contacting draft-eligible players to be a part of the league's draft pool. The XFL draft is set for October. 

Former Steelers quarterback Landry Jones was one of the first publically revealed players. Former Giants quarterback and Syracuse standout Eric Dungey announced on social media that he was one of the selected players chosen to play in the XFL.