WATCH: That Time Cy Young Voter Hung Up On Steve Somers

John Maffei Prevented DeGrom From Winning Unanimously

Steve Somers
November 13, 2019 - 1:40 pm

Baseball's 2019 Cy Young Award winners will be revealed Wednesday evening. 

Listen to your team news NOW.

A year ago, the Mets' Jacob deGrom -- who is a finalist once again this year -- came one vote away from unanimously winning the National League award.

John Maffei of The San Diego Union-Tribune was the lone voter who didn't cast his ballot for deGrom. WFAN's Steve Somers had Maffei as a guest on his show to ask him about his rationale. The interview did not last long.

Watch the moment in animated form above.