Sep 15, 2018; Austin, TX, USA; Texas Longhorns former running back and 1998 Heisman Trophy winner Ricky Williams signs autographs at the ESPN Heisman House at Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports


Ricky Williams Among Founders For Freedom Football League

December 06, 2018 - 3:03 pm

NEW YORK (WFAN) – Ricky Williams, Terrell Owens and Simeon Rice are among former NFL players founding the Freedom Football League.

The FFL will begin with roughly 10 teams with plans for expansion. Games would take place during the spring and summer.

No start date has been announced for the league's opening season.

"The purpose of this league -- is about community and the development of players," Williams told ESPN's Outside The Lines. "In thinking about creating this league, I wanted to create a league that I could have stayed in and been comfortable and really thrived. The NFL started a long time ago, and since then a lot of things have changed. And we want to create a league that's ready for that change and invite some more of it."

The San Diego Warriors, Oklahoma City Power, Portland Progress, Texas Revolution, Ohio Players, Florida Strong, Birmingham Kings, St. Louis Independence, Connecticut Underground and Oakland Panthers will be the league's first 10 teams.

The league will be financed through private funding and public offerings.