From left, Taylor Hall, Henrik Lundqvist and Mathew Barzal


Hall, Lundqvist, Barzal Selected To NHL All-Star Game

January 02, 2019 - 8:15 pm


Three players from area teams will represent the Metropolitan Division in the 2019 NHL All-Star Game.

The NHL announced the All-Star rosters Wednesday night. The Devils' Taylor Hall, the Rangers’ Henrik Lundqvist and the Islanders’ Mathew Barzal are among the 40 players selected for the Jan. 26 showcase at the SAP Center in San Jose, California.

For the fourth straight year, the All-Star Game will be a three-on-three tournament featuring a team from each of the NHL’s four divisions. The Pacific Division won last year.

Hall, the reigning Hart Trophy winner, is making his fourth All-Star appearance. The 27-year-old left wing leads the Devils (15-16-7) in points (37) and assists (26). He is tied for second on the team with 11 goals. Hall missed his fourth straight game Wednesday night with a lower-body injury.

Lundqvist is making his fifth All-Star appearance. The 36-year-old goalie has a .916 save percentage and is allowing 2.81 goals per game for the Rangers, who are 17-14-7.

It's the first All-Star appearance for Barzal, who won the Calder Trophy last year as the NHL's top rookie. The 21-year-old center leads the Islanders (21-13-4) with 36 points and 26 assists. He has scored 10 goals.

The full rosters:

Atlantic Division (All-Star appearance)
F Jack Eichel, BUF (2nd)
F Nikita Kucherov, TBL (3rd)
F * Auston Matthews, TOR (3rd)
F David Pastrnak, BOS (1st)
F Steven Stamkos, TBL (6th)
F John Tavares, TOR (6th)
D Thomas Chabot, OTT (1st)
D Keith Yandle, FLA (3rd)
G Jimmy Howard, DET (2nd)
G Carey Price, MTL (7th)

Metropolitan Division (All-Star appearance)
F Sebastian Aho, CAR (1st)
F Cam Atkinson, CBJ (2nd)
F Mathew Barzal, NYI (1st)
F Sidney Crosby, PIT (4th)
F Claude Giroux, PHI (6th)
F Taylor Hall, NJD (3rd)
D John Carlson, WSH (1st)
D Seth Jones, CBJ (2nd)
G Braden Holtby, WSH (4th)
G Henrik Lundqvist, NYR (5th)

Central Division (All-Star appearance)
F Patrick Kane, CHI (8th)
F * Nathan MacKinnon, COL (3rd)
F Ryan O'Reilly, STL (2nd)
F Mikko Rantanen, COL (1st)
F Mark Scheifele, WPG (1st)
F Blake Wheeler, WPG (2nd)
D Miro Heiskanen, DAL (1st)
D Roman Josi, NSH (2nd)
G Devan Dubnyk, MIN (3rd)
G Pekka Rinne, NSH (3rd)

Pacific Division (All-Star appearance)
F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (5th)
F Clayton Keller, ARI (1st)
F * Connor McDavid, EDM (3rd)
F Joe Pavelski, SJS (3rd)
F Elias Pettersson, VAN (1st)
D Brent Burns, SJS (6th)
D Drew Doughty, LAK (5th)
D Erik Karlsson, SJS (6th)
G Marc-Andre Fleury, VGK (4th)
G John Gibson, ANA (2nd)

* Fan-elected captain