Jacob DeGrom: Third Cy Young Is 'Definitely Personal Goal Of Mine'

Mets Pitcher Prefers World Series Appearance

Alec Gearty
February 12, 2020 - 2:39 pm

Jacob deGrom is aiming to add another Cy Young Award to his trophy case. 

Listen to your team news NOW.

DeGrom joined an illustrious group of pitchers when he claimed his second consecutive Cy Young Award. Ten other pitchers, besides deGrom, have won the Cy Young in consecutive years since the award's inception in 1956. 

On Wednesday, DeGrom spoke to reporters for the first time this spring training and said a third straight award is one of the many goals he has entering the 2020 season. 

"Anytime you're at your best personally, you're going to help the team," deGrom said. "That's definitely another a personal goal of mine. Most importantly, (it's) a team game and I want to win a World Series."

DeGrom's 2018 campaign was stellar. The 31-year-old was just as dominant in the ensuing year. In 2019, deGrom led the National League with 255 strikeouts and had the second-lowest ERA (2.43) across 204 innings pitched — five innings shy of the NL lead.

He received 29-of-30 first place votes from the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) to earn last year's Cy Young, beating out Los Angeles' Hyun-Jin Ryu and Washington's Stephen Strasburg. 

Former Mets pitcher Pedro Martinez presented deGrom with the award at the BWAA's annual dinner in January. DeGrom, who won 11 games last year, shared the "really cool" interaction he shared with Martinez. 

"It was funny because when I saw him, I actually thanked him," deGrom said, via SNY. "Because at the All Star Game, he said a couple of things to me. He noticed that I was getting more frustrated on the mound more than I have in previous years and he said, 'Hey, calm down out there. Just have fun.' I think that helped. I laughed when I saw him and found out he was giving me the award. 

"I thanked him for that because I do feel like it helped," deGrom added. "I was getting frustrated. Not taking it one pitch at a time so I've had a few interactions with him. Like I said, I try to learn from whoever I can and take little things from them. If it can help me improve, then it's a plus."

The list of pitchers that won the Cy Young Award in three consecutive years is exceptionally short. Greg Maddux, who eventually won four straight awards, became the first player to do so from 1992-1994. Randy Johnson later accomplished the feat with Arizona from 1999-2001. 

Since then, Max Scherzer and Clayton Kershaw highlight the group of aces that fell just short of Maddux and Johnson's company.