USA TODAY Sports Images

Islanders' Trotz Wins Jack Adams Award As NHL's Top Coach

Lehner, Greiss Also Honored

June 19, 2019 - 10:25 pm

LAS VEGAS (AP) -- The Islanders' Barry Trotz won the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's top coach on Wednesday night.

Watch NHL games now on fuboTV.

Trotz beat out Tampa Bay's Jon Cooper and St. Louis' Craig Berube for the honor, which is based on regular-season performance. Trotz also won the award with Washington three years ago.

After winning the Stanley Cup and subsequently leaving the Capitals last summer, Trotz engineered an impressive one-season turnaround for the Islanders. New York went 48-27-7 for a 23-point increase from 2018 and its best single-season total since 1983-84, even after losing John Tavares to Toronto.

The Islanders swept the Pittsburgh Penguins in the first round of the Stanley Cup playoffs before being swept themselves in the second round by the Carolina Hurricanes.

Trotz took a moment after accepting the award to honor his goalie, Robin Lehner, who won the Masterton Trophy as the player exemplifying the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Lehner had an outstanding season after revealing during training camp that he has struggled with addiction and bipolar disorder. He is the third player in Islanders history to win the award.

"I'm not ashamed to say I'm mentally ill, but that doesn't mean mentally weak," Lehner said after accepting his award.

In other awards handed out:

• Lehner and Isles teammates Thomas Greiss won the William M. Jennings Trophy, given to the goaltenders having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it.

• Tampa Bay right wing Nikita Kucherov won the Hart Trophy as the league's MVP for the first time in his career. He also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the league's most outstanding player according to the NHL Players' Association members.

• Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Lightning won his first Vezina Trophy as the NHL's top goalie.

• Ryan O'Reilly of the Stanley Cup champion St. Louis Blues won his first Selke Trophy as the NHL's top defensive forward.

• Calgary's Mark Giordano won the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top defenseman. contributed to this report.